skip tocontent

workingtogether with consumer advice workers

our training events across the UK

It's crucial that people working on the front line of problems – from trading standards officers to local voluntary groups, and from charity support workers to money advisers – know about the ombudsman's role.

We run training days across the UK for people who give free advice to consumers – so we can hear about what you’re seeing day-to-day and answer your questions about what we do, how we work, and how we can help. 

what we cover?

  • we'll begin with a look at our role – how you can make the most of us and what to expect if we step in
  • with financial difficulties a major and growing concern for consumers, we'll explain what we expect from businesses – and our approach to sorting out things out
  • we'll cover payday loans, unaffordable lending, mortgages and other issues
  • you can tell us about local problems, wider challenges you're facing and trends you're seeing – as well as anything specific that's on your desk

Sessions run over a working day and lunch and refreshments are provided. 

how to attend

Have a look at where we’ll be and send us a booking form for the day you want to attend. 

July 2014

Leeds (fully booked)

  • Wednesday 23 July 2014
  • The Carriageworks, The Electric Press, Millennium Square, Leeds LS2 3AD
  • here's more information and a booking form PDF or Word

September 2014

Hull

  • Tuesday 9 September 2014
  • Hull City Hall, Hull City Council, Queen Victoria Square, Hull, HU1 3RQ
  • here's more information and a booking form PDF or Word

Newcastle(fully booked)

  • Tuesday 23 September 2014
  • Great North Museum: Hancock, Barras Bridge, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE2 4PT

If your organisation would like to arrange a training-event in partnership with us, please email our outreach team team.

October 2014

Belfast

  • Wednesday 8 October 2014
  • Holiday Inn Express, 106a University Street, Belfast, BT7 1HP
  • here's more information and a booking form PDF or Word

Omagh

  • Thursday 9 October 2014
  • Silverbirch Hotel, 5 Gortin Road, Omagh, BT79 7DH, Northern Ireland
  • here's more information and a booking form PDF or Word

Gravesend

  • Tuesday 21 October 2014
  • Gravesend Old Town Hall, High Street, Gravesend, Kent, DA11 0AZ
  • here's more information and a booking form PDF or Word

November 2014

Birmingham

  • Tuesday 11 November 2014
  • BVSC, The Centre for Voluntary Action, 138 Digbeth, Birmingham B5 6DR
  • here's more information and a booking form PDF or Word

Milton Keynes

  • Thursday 20 November 2014
  • Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, 500 Saxon Gate West Central, Milton Keynes,
    MK9 2HQ
  • here's more information and a booking form PDF or Word

Bristol

  • Tuesday 25 November 2014
  • Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, Bond Street, Bristol, BS1 3LE
  • here's more information and a booking form PDF or Word

December 2014

Manchester

  • Tuesday 2 December 2014
  • Venues to be confirmed
  • information to follow

Watford

  • Wednesday 10 December 2014
  • Best Western White House Hotel, Upton Road, Watford, WD18 0JF
  • here's more information and a booking form PDF or Word

previous training-events

  • Blackpool – Wednesday 9 July 2014
  • Burnley – Tuesday 8 July 2014
  • Warrington – Wednesday 25 June 2014
  • Crewe – Tuesday 24 June 2014
  • Hastings – Wednesday 21 May 2014
  • Plymouth – Tuesday 3 June 2014
  • Bournemouth – Thursday 5 June 2014
  • Stockwell – Wednesday 07 May 2014
  • Ipswich – Wednesday 23 April 2014
  • Nottingham – Tuesday 15 April 2014
  • Dundee – Wednesday 02 April 2014
  • Glasgow – Tuesday 01 April 2014
  • Peterborough – Tuesday 25 March 2014
  • Swansea – Wednesday 19 March 2014
  • Sheffield – Thursday 13 March 2014
  • Woking – Thursday 27 February 2014
  • Stratford – Thursday 30 January 2014
  • London – Wednesday 27 November 2013
  • Portsmouth – 14 November 2013
  • Crawley – 1 November 2013
  • Maidstone – 1 October 2013
  • North Wales (Conwy) – 23 October
  • Gloucester – 17 September 2013
  • Norwich – 11 September 2013
  • Cumbria (Penrith) – 11 September 2013
  • Liverpool – 4 September 2013
  • Luton – 14 August 2013
  • Croydon – 17 July 2013
  • Truro – 4 July 2013
  • Sunderland – 5 June 2013
  • Wigan – 26 June 2013
  • Bradford – 27 June 2013
  • Derry-Londonderry – 23 May 2013
  • Stafford – 9 May 2013
  • Edinburgh – 25 April 2013
  • Inverness – 24 April 2013
  • Stockport – 10 April 2013
  • Derby – 20 March 2013
  • Cardiff – 15 March 2013
  • Chelmsford – 27 February 2013
  • Reading – 13 February 2013
  • Stratford – 30 January 2013
  • Brighton – 6 November 2012
  • Darlington – 23 October 2012
  • Doncaster – 24 October 2012
  • Exeter – 11 October 2012
  • London (South) – 4 October 2012
  • London (West) – 11 September 2012
  • Perth – 24 July 2012
  • Leicester – 12 July 2012
  • Preston – 14 June 2012
  • Coventry – 13 June 2012
  • Belfast – 9 May 2012
  • Southampton – 20 April 2012